Annoying high pitched vocals sound....

Bronze Member
Username: Sgtpeper

Post Number: 44
Im not really sure what to call this as Im still learning. Ive spoken to gregory about this but I thought I might as well ask here...
Mostly when I'm watching movies I hear a sort of bright or high pitched sound - distortion for lack of a better word. It seems like it does it more as the movies progress but this could be in my head... No one else even notices it except me and its ONLY on voices not instrument - instruments always sound amazing. It doesnt JUST come form the center channel as I turned that off and gave it a shot.. Again its only for split seconds and only when a voice crosses a certain frequency... Some ideas were that it could be coming from resonation from my basement walls... But still Im just wondering what you guys think of this...
Again here is my set up
PE 45tx Reciever
PE 47ai DVD Player
MA S8 fronts
MA Silver Center 12i (NOT THE SLCR)
And just some old regular yamaha 6ohm bookshelf speakers for surrounds - for now...
Let me know what yall think
Thanks
Jeff

Silver Member
Username: Geekboy

Post Number: 192
Sgtpeper: if you can reproduce this at will -- you know... a certain part of a movie -- then move your speakers away from the wall 6" and try again. If you still hear it... turn them 10-20 degrees in a different direction.

If it goes away, or changes pitch (frequency), then it's the room!

Bronze Member

Post Number: 45
...And if it doesnt? :-)
-Jeff

Silver Member

Post Number: 193
It could just that you hear harmonics that no one else hears. :-) Just kidding. If it's caused by items in your room... re-resonating or just responding to the harmonics... then moving the speakers should cause it to "move" or to go away.