Why does revciever need phono input?

Username: Meecha

Post Number: 7
Hello all,
I have heard that in order to add a phono player to my reciever, I need to have a phono input on the reciever. Why cant I just put it in to auxillary or something like that. Why does there have to be a ground. I just have a phono player from the early 80's and it just has rca plugs coming out of it. Maybe only expensive phono players need a special input? I dunno, sorry Im just a newbie,

Thanks

Silver Member
Username: John_a

Post Number: 171
The output from a moving magnet pick-up cartridge is very small compared to that of a CD-player, tuner etc.. If you connect to a standard input, like Aux, you might hear something, but will not get reasonable volumes. The output from a moving coil pick-up cartridge is even smaller.

So, if your receiver/amp does not have a dedicated phono input, you need a phono pre-amp to amplify the signal before you can give it to "Aux".

Grounding. Cartridges are low-voltage electromechnical devices and very susceptible to induction of a signal from electromagnetic fields. So you have to make sure the cartridge is not part of the route of the current to ground, otherwise you hear hum. Turntables have to be connected to the same ground as the amp to take the cartridge out of the path. You can usually just connect a wire between the turntable chassis and the amp chassis. An amp-receiver with phono input usually has a spade terminal to allow you to do this. If it does not, you can just connect a wire between the turntable/pickup ground and one of the screws holding the (metal) amp chassis together

Unregistered guest