Sounds of amps?

mica45
Unregistered guest
I have heard that different amps have different sound characteristics, (warm, bright, laid back, forward, etc..)
If say a CD player is contacted via a digital connection, would they mostly sound the same? Do you need to connect sources via analog to hear these diff. amp characteristics?
Sorry but I am new to all of this and just trying to figure things out and find the right amp/ receiver

Bronze Member
Username: Cheapskate

Post Number: 79
no. amps definately have different personalities. even a/d converters do too. the differences are much smaller than differences between speakers, but they do exist.

the first thing you should do is listen to a variety of speaker types and sizes within your budget to see what you like. more than anything, your ears should decide what equipment you buy.

after that, equipment matching further tweaks your sytem, eg. if you have speakers that are too bright, then bright sounding amps are a bad choice.

for example... i have two recievers (nad and onkyo) and two different speaker types (nht super zeros and mission m-71s).
my main speakers are superzeros. they're warmer sounding than the brighter missions.

with the recievers, the onkyo is brighter while the nad is warmer.

nhts sound extra warm and muffled on the nad while the missions sound overly bright and even tiring on the onkyo.

i blew the nad up when it got shorted out driving my sub so i haven't listened to the missions on it, but i'm sure that's the better match while the nhts match well with the onkyo which livens their polite treble up.

first find the speakers you like most, and if there's some slight quality that you'd like to improve, then look for an amp that matches what you want.

there are a bunch of wildly different speaker types and devoted fans who swear by them and hate anything else. the thing to do is find out what your priorities are and go from there.

like alot of bass... then you might like ported speakers