Denon AVR-884 vs. Yamaha HTR?

Username: Krackerjack

Post Number: 1
Hello, I'm new to A/V world and am a little lost. My trusty old Sony stereo recently bit the dust and now I'm looking to buy a new system. I've been shopping but find myself lost in the maze. I have spent considerable time looking at my budget and I think the most I could afford to spend on a home theater system is between $900-$1,000. I am mainly looking for something that can play 50% music and 50% movies. My room is about 11x17x12 feet high. I listen to all types of music from classical, jazz, hi-hop, reggae, rock, etc, etc.

I went on-line and checked seeeeveral places and have found a package that looks interesting. It is a Denon AVR-884 receiver with a Denon 1815 DVD, JBL SCS 160 si 7 speaker system with floor stands and all of the monster cable I need to connect it all up (http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/controller/home?O=productlist&A=details&Q=&sku=3 04386&is=REG). When I went in to check it out, the sales person told me that he would actually recommend switching the receiver for a Yamaha HTR 5660 and would do it a no additional charge.

Not knowing much about the a/v world, I'm not sure what to do. Is this a good system? Is this a good deal? If this is a good set up and good deal, which receiver should I get? Denon (http://www.usa.denon.com/catalog/products.asp?l=2&c=13)? or Yamaha (http://www.yamaha.com/cgi-win/webcgi.exe/DsplyModel/?gAVR00010HTR-5660)? I'd appreciate any help I could get. Thanks!!

Sarandon
Unregistered guest
Well Max those are some great choices, especially the Yamaha. But if i were you, I would try to get the Onkyo Home Theater in a Box for $499. It comes with a 6.1 high current receiver, six speakers and a powered 8" sub. I would try that before your other choices. I do like how the onkyo's sound with both music and movies. even though i like yamaha's trademark bright, detailed and accurate sound, i still think that onkyo is a great alt. to yamaha.