WIRING

Jake
Unregistered guest
OK, I'M new to car audio and i not sure if this is possible.
would i be able to wire 1 Audiobahn AW1200Q
12" Dual 4-ohm Voice Coil Component Subwoofer to 1 A8002T - Audiobahn 2 Ch 800 Watt Amplifier
specs for amp =
200 X 2 at 4 Ohms Stereo
400 x 2 at 2 Ohms Stereo
800 x 1 at 4 Ohms Mono
also , if that's possible, could i use 4 guage wire? (Scosche EFX 800-Watt Amp Wiring Kit)

Username: Glasswolf

Post Number: 386
you'll have to bridge the amp and wire the sub in series for an 8 Ohm load.
the sub will get 400 watts.

at least, if that's really the RMS rating of the amplifier, which I sort of doubt for a class-AB.

jake
Unregistered guest
thx glasswolf, i'm thinking of buying the A8000t instead, u can hook it up 800 watts @ 2ohms mono. If i wired both 4ohm voice coils parallel it would present the amp with a 2 ohm load right?

Jake
Unregistered guest
would a 4 guage wire kit be good?

Username: Glasswolf

Post Number: 392
yes 4AWG is sufficient, and yes parallel wiring the coils will be 2 Ohms, however on a bridged amplifier, that'd see half the real load, which is why amps, when bridged, are only 4 Ohm stable for the most part.
On a mono sub amp, 2 Ohms is ideal.

jake
Unregistered guest
thanks again glasswolf, u know your stuff

tim miller
Unregistered guest
i would like to know how to hook up my 4 channel 400 watt vr3 amp and my 12" 500 watt lightning audio sub to my car stereo. Right now i have my sub directly hooked up to my car stereo. i know how to get power into my amp but dont know what wires go to where when it comes to hooking my car stereo to it (RCA cables). thanx in advance

jay amaro
Unregistered guest
jake also if you have the sub and the amp currently you dont have to use both voice coils and you can bridge the amp and send your 800 watts into 4 ohm into one side of the sub.