I need help badly

Username: Air87_05

Post Number: 1
im kinda new at this whole car audio thing but i bought an amp and subs from my friend and he hooked it all up and it worked for about a week and then the fuses on my amp blew so i went out and bought new ones but i keep blowing those as soon as i put them in. i had all my wires checked and there are no shorts. so what is wrong? do i need a new amp or is there something else that i can do to fix this problem (the amp isnt even on when it blows the fuses).

Username: Crackpipewilli

Post Number: 7
well, thats kinda weird if the amp isnt on and it blows fuses, id checkt the wiring again, cuz you are probably getting a short somewhere, but if its blowing them when the amp is running you are running the amp at too high of a setting, or it is getting to much power, by the way, what kind of amp is it and how big are your subs?

Post Number: 2
im running a 12" vega sub and my amp is a 4 channel amp but im bridging it with only one channel.

Post Number: 3
oh and i bought the whole set up from one of my friends

Username: Crackpipewilli

Post Number: 8
whats the wattage on the amp and what is the wattage that the subs take? and also the brand of the amp?

Post Number: 4
i dont know the brand of the amp but its a 140x4 and the subs are 750 watt

Username: Its_bacon12

Post Number: 10
that happened to me - check your ground and +12v input - my brother swithed them when puttin in my amp and thats exactly what happened, the fuse blew the second he put it in, actually melted it too....

Username: Its_bacon12

Post Number: 11
wait, your running 1 subwoofer off a 4 channel amp? thats not a good thing, either ur bridging two channels together or just using one channel....dont do that, get a mono amp if ur running 1 subwoofer, or get 2 subwoofers with lower power handling

Username: Glasswolf

Post Number: 192
or at least a two channel amp, bridged, if the sub is a 4 Ohm sub, with one coil.

Post Number: 5