Can't eliminate noise's from Speakers

Username: Predsy

Post Number: 1
I am extremely new to all of this car audio biz, and have been trying to set up my VN Wagon with all the gear. But unfortunately I haven't had any luck. I was told that the Amp was no good took it back had it tested they said it was the RCA outs on my H/U. Had that tested they said it was fine. So i went and bought new RCA's and wiring and started from scratch. But that only made the noise worse. It started out as alternator whine which was only there when the engine was turned on and if i disconnected the amp it dissapeared. Now however I have a high pitch squeal when the engine is turned off and only switched to Accessory. I seen on a website that you could test if it was the RCA's on your H/U by disconnecting the RCA's at the amp and checking for noise, if there was no noise (which there wasn't) then to turn of the H/U and connect the remote wire directly to the battery. Here I had noise. But it didn't say whether that meant the H/U was ok or not. I had the car to a place that installs car audio and they couldn't fix it, (not sure if they really looked though, it was only there for about 10minutes). Power is running down driver side and RCA's passenger side and have checked, double checked and moved around the ground wires. Also read somewhere that the power wire should go from the H/U to the fuse to the battery, to the amp and then back to the battery, I havent tried this but can anyone tell me what this would achieve. Any help would be great because i am at an end to find the trouble. Thanks
Predsy

Silver Member
Username: Jonathan_f

GA USA

Post Number: 838
" I seen on a website that you could test if it was the RCA's on your H/U by disconnecting the RCA's at the amp and checking for noise, if there was no noise (which there wasn't) then to turn of the H/U and connect the remote wire directly to the battery."