Help spend my money! Advise Needed for a newbe.

Username: Rtb1972

Austin, TX United States

Post Number: 1
I am new to the car audio market and am looking to you for advice. I have $600.00 to spend on a car audio system. I am putting this in a 1994 Mustang Cobra with a Mach 460 Sound system currently in place. I am looking for a head unit with built in CD that will play MP3's and WMA's, low pass and high pass filters would also be a plus. I will also need an amp, sub and enclosure. The sub will be mounted in the truck of the car, so I don't know if I should use a Ported or Sealed box? Should I go with a 10" or 12" single woofer? Will a 12 fit? Here are the products I have found so far...

Head Unit: Panasonic CQ-C5310U... 161.00
AMP: Sony XM-2200GTX... 138.00
Sub: Open to Suggestions
Box: No clue
Miss: Harness, Cable, hardware?

What do you guys recommend I purchase?

Thank you,
Robert Barker
Austin TX

Austin, TX United States

Post Number: 2
Also, One sub is fine. I don't really care about brand names either, as long as the quality is good. If you guys can get it down below 500.00 that would be fine with me. :-)

Thanks again,
Robert

Bronze Member
Username: Kickercomp

Tampa, FL USA

Post Number: 38
12w7 in ported enclosure. it will be around 600, but i know that sony amp wont come close to pushin it. tell us what ur after, loudness or quality or both>?

Austin, TX United States

Post Number: 3
More quality than loudness, but I will take both if I can get it. What AMP would you suggest.

Bronze Member
Username: Jmloughrey

Farmington, CT

Post Number: 40
You are gonna need to deside on a sub before you can really go with an amp. Seeing you are pressed for money you should look at the Kicker CompVr's if you'd like a pair of 10's. If you want a single 12 i'd reccommend a 12" kicker L5 or L7. The L7;s a little more and it will be loud if run properly, look into a kicker amp to run it. it's gonna need somewhere around 600watts RMS, not 100% sure on that figure.