Help with building a ported enclosure!

Username: The_cobbler

Post Number: 1
Hey all, I'm new to this forum and some-what new to enclosure building. I've never done a ported enclosure before so I have some questions. How do you guys calculate your port volumes? Do you just use the port calculators I find online? Or are you guys using that program WinISD? Also how forgiving is a ported enclosure when it comes to being precise about box volume, port volume, etc.? Are flared ports absolutely necessary to get good sound?

Silver Member
Username: Alonzoub

Post Number: 135
I use a mixture of WinISD Pro Alpha, some formulas from this site: http://www.carstereo.com/help/Articles.cfm, and more recently (thanks to Canaan) formulas from this site: http://www.diysubwoofers.org/

Ported enclosures are not very forgiving when looking for a specific sound.

Flared ports aren't absolutely necessary, they simply allow you to use smaller port area and maintain a low noise system. If you build an enclosure that is slot-ported, having a nice large port area and a round over around the edges of the port throat will sound just as good, but will require a lot more volume then say using Precision Ports.

Post Number: 3
Thanks for the reply. Ok, so how do I know what volume to use if I go with a flared port? Is there a separate calculator for that?

Silver Member

Post Number: 136
decide how large the port needs to be based off of the velocity of the air inside the port. Using WinISD Pro Alpha you can get a plot of vent air velocity vs frequency, like this one:

Upload