Guys please help a damsel in distress

Username: Likeit_loud

Post Number: 1
I would like to start off by saying that you guys rock !!! I am just learning about all of this complicated car audio crap. I have found a wealth of information by surfing you message boards. My problem is I have a little system 4 JBL 6 " 180 watt speakers hooked up to a Pioneer 250 watt AMP. The problem is I lose about 6 bars of volume when my car is running compared to when it is turned off. When I am driving the stereo is not half as loud and it cuts out a lot.

Any info you could give would be appreciated

Bronze Member
Username: Beligerant1

NC USA

Post Number: 15
Some of the percieved volume loss could just be from road noise.

Post Number: 2
Nope I will have the car sitting still have it maxed out so that the AMP is cutting out. As soon as I turn the key back so that the engine is off. The system kicks in and stops cutting out. Not only does it stop cutting out but I can then turn it up even further.

Thanks for your suggestion though

Gold Member
Username: Glasswolf

NorthWest, Michigan USA

Post Number: 3847
nah this isn't road noise. something is wired improperly, causing problems with the amp.
this isn't good, in general terms. you need to (or have someone else) go over the wiring for both head unit and amp, and perhaps the amp to speakers as well and look for a pinned wire or cable, or something miswired.
when the car is running a ground wire may be actually connected to an ignition line.

Username: Audiophile

OFallon, MO USA

Post Number: 9
Could her battery/alternator not be putting out enough?

Try turning your car on (as in running) with the air and your lights and everything else on-see what happens. Then turn EVERYTHING off, save for the ignition. See if this makes a difference.

I could just be blowing smoke out my bum(had to go back and edit this...:-\) though.

Gold Member

NorthWest, Michigan USA

Post Number: 3862