Like

Im thinking of building a internet router....help

 

Platinum Member
Username: Insearchofbass

Post Number: 17013
Registered: Jun-04
I have a old emachine 733 megahertz machine with 64 megs of ram and i was thinking of turning it into a internet router since the current models are using what looks like 300 megahertz cpu's with 32 megs of ram. Will i see any improvement turning this pc into a router over the bought ones i spoke of? If so what is a good linux program with router control for a novice that will use minimal ram? I also want to be able to run other compuers behind this router running windows vista home edition using the linux based router software. Im under the assumption you can am i correct?
 

Platinum Member
Username: Insearchofbass

Post Number: 17014
Registered: Jun-04
opps i thought i posted this in the off topic section
 

Gold Member
Username: Extrmndor3

Http://illuzonemu.serv..., ^^^Sick Game

Post Number: 8611
Registered: Feb-06
i was thinking the same...

you can have a pretty good router..

also just because you have a nic or dedicated nic card doesnt mean anything..

all your data will rely on your processor and memory to make the data flow.. block or any packet routing..

heres the list


starting from the top the best to the you know..
Endian Firewall 2.1
EnGarde Secure Linux
EnGarde Secure Server
Feather Linux
Featherweight Linux
Gibraltar Firewall
Honeywall
IPCop Firewall
Lineox Enterprise Linux
Linux from scratch
Network Security Toolkit
Openwall GNU*Linux
SME Server
Smoothwall
StartCom Enterprise Linux AS
Sun JDS
SUSE
Topologilinux
TFM Linux
Tiny Sofa
Trixbox
Trustix Enterprise Firewall
Trustix Secure Linux
Ultima Linux
VoIPonCD
White Box Enterprise Linux
YellowDog
YES Linux
Zenwalk Linux
ZoneCD/select
(and im sure many many more)

i will recomend a nice dedicated premade router.. easier access...
but since all you have it could work..

i was thinking the same like i said before but i dont know..

FYI the best thing to do with a pc like that is build a NAS for your home network.. myself im thinking to build one.. but i dont have the time..

why do you need a big router?? are you an enterprise manager?? do you have your own server?? if its possible to know..
 

Gold Member
Username: Gcs8

Atlanta, Ga

Post Number: 2002
Registered: Sep-09
http://www.smoothwall.org/

http://m0n0.ch/wall/

http://www.untangle.com/

untangle is the one i like the most.
 

Gold Member
Username: Gcs8

Atlanta, Ga

Post Number: 2003
Registered: Sep-09
you will also need 2 NIC's inbound and outbound, it can be done with one but its a bit wonkie.

as rob said a NAS box is a good one as well, you can use readyNAS or UNraid, think unraid also can act as a ftp server as well.
 

Gold Member
Username: Gcs8

Atlanta, Ga

Post Number: 2004
Registered: Sep-09
there is also http://www.pfsense.org/

Outbound load balancing is used with multiple WAN connections to provide load balancing and failover capabilities. Traffic is directed to the desired gateway or load balancing pool on a per-firewall rule basis. << aka jack 2 or 3 of your neighbors connections as well and get more bandwidth.
 

Platinum Member
Username: Insearchofbass

Post Number: 17020
Registered: Jun-04
i went ahead and bought the ASUS RT-N56U with a three year replacement warranty for 141 shipped



http://http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/lanwan/router-charts/view

http://news.softpedia.com/news/Asus-RT-N56U-Dual-Band-Gigabit-Wireless-N-Router- Review-175313.shtml

RT-N56U -- data throughput and performance

Beside providing users with plenty of interesting and useful features, the Asus RT-N56U also delivers quite an OK level of data troughput and performance, managing to attain roughly 318Mbps download speed in combined (2.4GHz + 5Ghz) mode and an 370Mbps upload speed in the same conditions.
Asus RT-N56U - system log
Enlarge picture
Asus RT-N56U - AiDisk Wizard
Enlarge picture
Asus RT-N56U - FTP Share
Enlarge picture

It's also important to mention here that the device delivers full gigabit internet support, managing to attain some pretty impressive throughputs, of up to 900 Mbps.

Plus, the router supports up to 300,000 data sessions at the same time, which enables stable P2P downloading and video streaming.
Asus RT-N56U - System Setup - operating mode
Enlarge picture
Asus RT-N56U - changing the operation mode
Enlarge picture
Asus RT-N56U - alternate settings menu
Enlarge picture



Beyond all of these numbers and data rates, we'll have to mention that one of the things we really loved about the router from Asus was its level of reliability.
 

Platinum Member
Username: Insearchofbass

Post Number: 17023
Registered: Jun-04
I cancelled the order because i saw a new one with antennas is coming out

http://wl500g.info/showthread.php?t=25043
 

Gold Member
Username: Extrmndor3

Http://illuzonemu.serv..., ^^^Sick Game

Post Number: 8614
Registered: Feb-06
meh you would never benefit in real life from that cr@p

this is my favorite

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16833156285


Network Processor Atheros AR7161
Flash Memory 8MB
RAM 64MB
Communication Mode Half Duplex, Full Duplex
Compliant Standards (Wired) IEEE 802.3 10Base-T, IEEE 802.3u 100Base-TX, IEEE 802.3ab 1000Base-T
Compliant Standards (Wireless) IEEE 802.11a Wireless, IEEE 802.11b Wireless, IEEE 802.11g Wireless G, IEEE 802.11n Wireless
Device Management DHCP Server; DHCP Client
Remote Management Protocol HTTP
Operation Mode (Access Mode) Access Point, Broadband Router, 4-Port Switch
Routing Protocol RIP-1, RIP-2 (Static Routing & Dynamic Routing)
Internet Sharing Methods Dynamic IP, Static IP, PPPoE, L2TP, PPtP
Media Access Control WMM
Switching Protocol Store and Forward
Encryption 64/128-bit WEP, WPA-PSK(TKIP)/WPA2-PSK(AES), WPA/WPA2-RADIUS
Firewall/Security NAT, SPI and DoS (block ping, port scan, sync flood)
WiFi Protected Setup Wi-Fi Protected Setup (WPS), connects with other WPS compliant devices
Radio Technology Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM)
Modulation Technology OFDM: BPSK, QPSK, 16-QAM, 64-QAM, DBPSK, DQPSK, CCK
Frequency 2.415GHz to 2.484GHz
Antenna 2 3dBi Detachable Dipole Antennas
Channels 11 Channels (US, Canada), 13 Channels (European Countries)
Maximum Range Indoors 328 Feet (100 Meters)
Maximum Range Outdoors 980 Feet (300 Meters)
Wireless A Data Transfer Rate Up to 54Mbps
Wireless B Data Transfer Rate Up to 11Mbps
Wireless G Data Transfer Rate Up to 54Mbps
Wireless N Data Transfer Rate Up to 300Mbps
Wired Data Transfer Rate (Half-Duplex) 10Mbps, 100Mbps, 1000Mbps
Wired Data Transfer Rate (Full-Duplex) 20Mbps, 200Mbps, 2000Mbps
Network Ports and Connectors 4 RJ-45 10/100/1000 Gigabit Auto-Sensing Ports
Auxiliary Ports 1 RJ-45 10/100/1000 Auto-Sensing WAN Port; 1 USB "A" Port
Power Supply AC Adapter
Manufacturer Warranty 5 Year Limited Warranty


check out the specs pretty good.. one of my favorite routers
 

Gold Member
Username: Gcs8

Atlanta, Ga

Post Number: 2006
Registered: Sep-09
i use theses for wireless http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16833122064 and theses for wired http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16833122111 and my servers take care of DHCP.
 

Gold Member
Username: Somedonniedude

Illinois Braaap MX

Post Number: 3156
Registered: May-07
you will also need 2 NIC's inbound and outbound, it can be done with one but its a bit wonkie.

A bit wonkie he says!
 

Gold Member
Username: Gcs8

Atlanta, Ga

Post Number: 2007
Registered: Sep-09
well with untangle and a few others you can do router on a stick type setup if you are only using one NIC. it works its just annoying, but doable.
 

Platinum Member
Username: Insearchofbass

Post Number: 17031
Registered: Jun-04
I just got this to make a router with. It has 2.4 mghz processor 1 gig of ram and 5 pci slots and it was only 56 bucks shipped

http://cgi.ebay.com/Gateway-E-6000-Desktop-Tower-Intel-P4-2-4Mhz-XP-Pro-/3103114 03280?pt=Desktop_PCs&hash=item4840003f10
 

Gold Member
Username: Gcs8

Atlanta, Ga

Post Number: 2012
Registered: Sep-09
nice, i am working on makeing a new storage server, i was looking at this ( http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811219033 ) its just a pain part shopping some times.

let us know what you decide to do with it, sorry for the thread jack there.
 

Platinum Member
Username: Insearchofbass

Post Number: 17034
Registered: Jun-04
expensive thing your looking at there but if you need it...

on the pc i just bought......he says the pc i just bought has the pc1066 ram which is 533 bus speed when the stock ram it calls for is pc800 ram which is 400 bus....will this work and be ok?
 

Platinum Member
Username: Insearchofbass

Post Number: 17036
Registered: Jun-04
nevermind it can use 533 bus ram I looked it up
 

Platinum Member
Username: Insearchofbass

Post Number: 17043
Registered: Jun-04
I ordered my 5 linux/windows gigabit ethernet cards so im ready to make that pc into a nice router im up to 92 dollars total investment
 

Gold Member
Username: Gcs8

Atlanta, Ga

Post Number: 2013
Registered: Sep-09
very nice, tho you only really need 2 and a switch, then you just let it do the dhcp. have you decided what distro you are going to run on it?
 

Platinum Member
Username: Insearchofbass

Post Number: 17047
Registered: Jun-04
ok switched my order to 2 gigabit ethernets any suggestions on the switch .... no i havent looked into distros yet
 

Gold Member
Username: Gcs8

Atlanta, Ga

Post Number: 2016
Registered: Sep-09
The netgear prosafe gig switches are nice, its what I use. I will link you later, sleep now / in bed.
 

Platinum Member
Username: Insearchofbass

Post Number: 17048
Registered: Jun-04
I went with a TRENDnet TEG-S8G because i was reading about failure rates with the netgear GS108

its just as fast as the netgear GS108 heres test results....it cost me 34.99 shipped

http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/lanwan/lanwan-reviews/30195-8-port-gigabit-switch -roundup?start=1
 

Platinum Member
Username: Insearchofbass

Post Number: 17053
Registered: Jun-04
whats the best way to go about adding wireless n to this 5.0 and 2.4
 

Gold Member
Username: Gcs8

Atlanta, Ga

Post Number: 2026
Registered: Sep-09
depends on what distro you went with.
 

Platinum Member
Username: Insearchofbass

Post Number: 17054
Registered: Jun-04
pick some possibilities and and some ways to go and ill let that help me decide
 

Gold Member
Username: Gcs8

Atlanta, Ga

Post Number: 2027
Registered: Sep-09
this is how to do it on untangle http://wiki.untangle.com/index.php/Make_your_Untangle_Server_a_Wireless_Access_P oint

this is smoothwall http://blog.allthingsgeek.com/index.php?mod=article&id=4

this is mono wall http://doc.m0n0.ch/handbook/wireless.html
 

Gold Member
Username: Livin_loud

MW2 Addict

Post Number: 3437
Registered: Jan-06
so uh.. i'm in the market for a docsis 3.0 modem. the moto sb6120 seems to be all the rage. any other suggestions?
 

Gold Member
Username: Gcs8

Atlanta, Ga

Post Number: 2028
Registered: Sep-09
na, the moto modems are some of the best consumer end ones.
 

Platinum Member
Username: Insearchofbass

Post Number: 17055
Registered: Jun-04
the moto is the cheapest one to go with but comcast gives that a 1 star out of three....i went with one that got 3 out of three but it cost 37 dollars more than the moto the moto was 79 shipped
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Facebook

Shop Related Deals

Directory

Main Forums

Today's Posts

Forum Help

Follow Us