Comp on Sunday Opinions /Ideas wanted

Gold Member
Username: Delsole

Post Number: 1732
Alright Guys This Sunday There is a competition being Hosted by nespl. For those that remember my last install, i have taken all of my equipment out of my Acura integra. Unfortunately i didn't get to make it to any comps this summer.

Anyway i decided to throw a box together for one HDC315 in my 95 impreza coupe. I have no experience on a meter so i dont really know any of the tricks or trades that people do when metering there cars.

My main dilemma is deciding what class i should go in. As of now i made a box that is about 3 cubes after sub/port displacement. If i remember correctly its a little over 4 cubes total with a 5 inch slot port that's 18 inches long. Its tuned to 40hz. This is going to be powered by an old ppi art 1200.2. Originally i planned to use frequencies but if i do that i would be in a 5k watt class. Any of the lower classes i will have to play music.

I dont know if it matters but since i couldn't find the resonance frequency of my car with a meter I measured where my sub would be and where the mic would be and after doing out the math a 44hz tone would be at a quarter of a sound wave where the mic would be.

I planned to fire the sub and port into the cabin but im open to all idea's. As i said i have no access to a meter for testing. After hooking up the sub and playing it at full tilt with a Odyssey pc1750 my voltage stays at about 12.7. I know its a nice amp but i have no idea if it will really push any more the 1200 watts.

As i said the competition is Sunday. I will try to post pics a little later on tonight. Basically im trying to hit the highest score i can. With the sub firing into the cabin it doesn't sound the greatest on music possible because of cancellation.

Please don't be afraid to chime in all opinions and ideas are welcomed. I especially want to hear what everyone has to say due to my lack of experience on the whole competition side.