I have a low budget and room for one sub! please help

Username: Oestjo

Post Number: 1
Hi im new to the whole audi scene. Alot of my friends have subs and i have saved up some money to get some. I have around 500 dollar for a system. Im in an audi a3 so i have not a lot of space and only can get one sub. Im looking for pounding bass(aka the loudest i can get). I was looking at maybe getting a kicker l5 15" and a zx500 amp. Maybe i can get some other choices. Remember i can only get one sub and have 500 dollar for the amp and sub so. thanks guys

Silver Member
Username: Perfectcircle

Naptown, Indy

Post Number: 113
I'm the first of several that will tell you to stay away from the L5. Also, the first of many to tell you to go to www.audioque.com and look at their sd "street duty" line of subs. I had a 15 for a period of time. Very affordable and pretty loud for the cost. I'm sure someone on here can steer you in the right direction. Just not a lot of love around here for kicker's subs. the amp would be ok.

Gold Member
Username: Delsole

Post Number: 1683
Now out of that 500 will you be dishing out extra for a good amp kit?

Gold Member
Username: Loc_out

SoCal

Post Number: 3209
500 isn't much of a budget. Maybe buying used sub/amp's wouldn't be a bad idea.

Platinum Member
Username: Nd4spd18

Philadelphia, PA

Post Number: 11307
x2 everything pike said. lol

AQ sd2.5 and alpine M500 amp would be my choice. Plus box and wiring will put you around 500.

Gold Member
Username: Skdooley

Roanoke, VA Usa

Post Number: 1077
Not to mention, if room is an issue, that 15" L5 would require a pretty large enclosure.

Gold Member
Username: The_image_dynamic

San Diego, California

Post Number: 5794
He has to go with a ported 12. A used IDMAX would be perfect in that car, but they are spendy and kind of hard to find. Save $300 more and do it right the first time, especially if you want loud.

Silver Member
Username: Cenus

Post Number: 104