Username: Orangenut

ChristchurchNew zealand

Post Number: 1
My current speaker set up is:

pair of Sony 6" - 200w max, 40rms, 4ohms
pair of Sony 6x9" - 400w max, 100rms 4ohms
and a cheap pair of 1" tweeters 120w max, not sure of the rms
my head unit is also Sony - 52w x 4, not sure of the rms wattage on this either

First of all with this set up would I even need an amp? I'm not planning to be getting a sub as the 6x9's already have enough bass for my liking.

If an amp will make my sound system better what do I look for in an amp? I have read some posts and from what I've gathered I need a 4 channel amp to power the 6's and 6x9s, and then can I just run the small tweeters of the power of the head unit?

I need help with this guys, all advise welcome . As the title says im new to this, this is my first sound system I've done and i don't know what I'm doing haha.

Platinum Member
Username: Glasswolf

Columbia, SC USA

Post Number: 12905
see if the sony head unit offers 3 pair of RCA pre-outs (F/R/S)
If so, get a 4 channel amp rated for 40-50 watts RMS per channel, with 4 channels, at 4 ohms.
That's what you want. Look for a decent amplifier maker. Sony is really about the worst car audio gear you can buy, so avoid them in the future, and if you're still not happy with the sound after getting an amp, try replacing teh speakers and radio with something better, like Focal or DLS speakers, and maybe an Alpine radio and amp.

ChristchurchNew zealand

Post Number: 2
I think I only have one rca out but it says sub/rear switchable on it, and yea I got the Sony stuff because it was very cheap and didn't seem too bad.

I did find a fusion reactor one for a good deal (is fusion a good brand?), which is 90w rms per channel at 4 ohms but you suggest a 40-50w one, would it be better to find one with lower watts? and also im over in new zealand and we don't really have a wide range to choose from, I've never seen anything from Focal or DLS.... stupid small countries.