Ported or Sealed?

Username: Frankiehockey

Post Number: 1
I am looking into purchasing an
Alpine - 500W Class D Mono MOSFET Amplifier with Adjustable Crossover along with a Alpine - 12" Dual-Voice-Coil 4-Ohm Subwoofer. (will be purchasing these from bestbuy and will have their squad install it)

Was wondering what would be more suitable for these, a ported box or sealed?

Im not very experienced in the car audio category but i've read up on as much information as i can.

Any help would be appreciated.

Gold Member
Username: Dustin3

Box Designer & Builder...Dustin

Post Number: 5426
Depends on what model the alpine's are. E's? R's?

And why don't you install it yourself, saves alot of money and it's not hard at all.

Post Number: 2
It is Type R.

Once i pick them up from the store i will figure out if i am able to install it myself.
Like i said, i have no past knowledge of this stuff

Gold Member

Post Number: 5427
I would go ported with the R. Do not buy a pre-fab ported enclosure though.

Post Number: 3
Would this box be ok?

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Atrend+-+12%22+Single+Ported+Subwoofer+Enclosure+-+C harcoal/9026868.p?id=1218009783153&skuId=9026868

Gold Member

Post Number: 5428
No. Like I said, do not buy ported pre-fabricated enclosures. They are poorly made and are usually tuned way too high for daily driving listening. Get a custom enclosure made. I do custom enclosures if your interested.

Post Number: 4
Yes.
How would i go about buying it?

Silver Member
Username: Gcs8

Atlanta, Ga

Post Number: 285
you email him, then take some mesurments with a tape measure then decide how you want your box to look like then you give him money then u get an amazing box.

Gold Member

Post Number: 5430
haha. Thanks Charles.

Frank -- You want an enclosure that is build to the specs of the driver (woofer) so that you get the most out of it. My email is in my profile if your interested. We can talk about it there.

Silver Member
Username: Skdooley

Roanoke, VA Usa