Whats the difference?

Username: Souleraser

Post Number: 3
Hey guys.

Im not a pro on audio thats why I ask this question:

What is the difference between a woofer that is rated at 2000 watts from a woofer that is rated at lets say 500 watts besides power handling?

Lets say they are the same size, same excursion (Xmax), same freq. range everything except for the power handling.

What is the difference in the sound they can produce?

Thanks.

Diamond Member
Username: Wingmanalive

Www.stainles... .ecrater.com

Post Number: 22325
DBs. More power a driver can safely sustain means the more it reproduces into sound waves. Think of it like a light bulb. The more wattage that is consumed the more energy is transformed into the final product. More watts, more light.

More watts into a driver equals more sound output. The suspension, spider, motor, ect, all must be designed to handle the physical motions of producing the sound accurately when given a clean signal.

Just like the filament in a 100w light bulb must be designed to handle the increased consumption over a 60w bulb so must a speaker and its' parts.

Gold Member
Username: Tejcurrent

Post Number: 2146
DBs x2.

Often, while a sub is meant to handle more power it also has a higher sensitivity rating. For instance in 18" size:

Fi SSD has 91.4db sensitivity, with 800rms rating.
Fi BTL has 94.9db sensitivity, with 2000 rms rating.

From this statement the BTL should be 3.5db louder with 1 watt of power, though it doesn't always work out that way. In a direct swap out of subs the BTL should be louder at any power range. It's just the way the subs are made- one is more efficient.

Gold Member
Username: Hittin1

TEAM REVOLUTION, La. Lake Charles...

Post Number: 4323
X3

but in some cases a lower rms line of subs can outpreform a higher rms line of subs on the same power until there is enough power to really get the higher rms sub really moving...

I apologize ifthat sounds confusing...