W7 vs.....

Gold Member
Username: Skibum12189

Cleveland

Post Number: 3235
I'm looking into upgrading a little. I got rid of my 15" tc3000 and now i miss it haha. I have a 500/1 and a 300/4 and i'm NOT changing my amps, so I have about 500 rms at 1.5-4 ohms. I'm really leaning toward a 12w7 or a 10w7, most likely the 10. What I am wondering (even tho i used to hate this question) is how will a ported 10w7 compare to my current sealed 12" diamond d3 in output. I love the sq of the d3, but i need more output.

Or what is a similar sub that could have decent output with great sq AND be that efficient on just 500 watts. I am pretty set on a w7, but i'm open for opinions.

and please, please don't post JL sucks or JL is overpriced because I am not a beginner. I know what I like and JL makes solid, high quality products. Maybe expensive, but you get what you pay for. No type r's, no aq sd's, or whatever the cheap 400-600 rms sub thats out right now.

Platinum Member
Username: Nyyfan13

Northern VA

Post Number: 11806
To give my opinion on it Cal, I've heard a 10 W7 off a 500/1 in a JL HO box and it was weak. And when I say weak, I mean it was very weak. I believe you drive a Jeep Cherokee or something like that and I heard that sub/amp/box combo in a Xterra which is close to your car type. I was very unimpressed with it.

Just my .02 cents on it

Gold Member
Username: Tatonka

-[Team Audible Insanity]-

Post Number: 3292
I know you don't want to hear it, but JL is not a case of "you get what you pay for" lol

I know subs that are less than half the price of a "comparible" JL sub that will perform just as well, if not better.

Gold Member
Username: Ducka

Shelby Twp., MI United States

Post Number: 1349
I got a 12" idmax d4 v2 I would probably let it go for around $170+Shipping (negotiable). Holler at me if interested.

Silver Member
Username: Skdooley

Roanoke, VA Usa

Post Number: 277