Alpine vs JL

azn10809er
I'm new to car audio so i really dont know anything about it. I heard some of my friends talking about the JL w7 or the Alpine type-r's. I need some advice on which subs to get. I'm thinking of getting 1 JL w7 with a 1000 watt amp, or 4 alpine type-r's, hooked up to 2 500 watt amps. I need some advice on which ones have better sound quality, loudness, and which would be best overall.

teflondog
the w7 sub is directed more towards spl so if you want to shake the ground, then get it. the type r's are more accurate and have a nice bass too, but they don't hit deep low notes as well as the w7. personally, i favor the w7 because its construction is far superior than the type r. however, i think a couple of type r's will boom more than just one single w7 if you're running the same wattage.

future_integra
The JL W7 is not a spl sub its an SQ sub that happens to get very loud I would recomend you get the W7 if you have the money for it, 4 type Rs might be around the same price as one w7 but the w7 is better in every way in that set up except maybe spl but it will still be plenty loud.

Anonymous

definately. the w7's are far superior to any sub on the market. build quality, sound quality, spl, everything. even if you dont want tons of base, get an 8 or 10w7 and keep the gain low. i recommend these to everyone.

Username: Glasswolf

Post Number: 222
The W7 and Type-R aren't in the same class.
You're comparing a $160 Alpine sub to a $470 JL.
The 13W7 with a JL 1000/1 in a *well-made* braced and reinforced 3/4" MDF enclosure, properly vented, should give you both SQ and SPL in one nice package.

In any event, be sure your car's electrical system is prepared to handle 1Kw of power.
That's over 100A of current draw from the sub amp alone, before you add in the other amplifier(s) you'll need for mids/highs so they'll keep up.

Username: Hydro

Post Number: 41
I would put an Adire Audio Brahma against one of them W7's

Post Number: 227