Which sub to choose? Alpine or JL Audio?

Username: Arcelivez

Post Number: 1
Hello,

OK, I have a
hifonics txi4008 amp
http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_11201_Hifonics+TXi+4008.html
and now I'm searching for a sub. I'm thinking of the following subs:
JL Audio 13W1v2-4
http://www.onlinecarstereo.com/CarAudio/p_15652_JL_Audio_13W1v2-4.aspx
and the Alpine SWS-1223D
http://www.crutchfield.com/p_500SWS1223/Alpine-SWS-1223D.html

So what do you guys think? What are your suggestions? I am a noob, so explain me. And what about my amp, if I understand correctly it can produce 400 wats rms when bridged? Or is there some kind of hook somewhere?

Thanks

Gold Member
Username: The_image_dynamic

San Diego, California

Post Number: 5501
Definately go with the Type R, but not that one -- this one:
http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_4243_Alpine+SWR-1222D+-TYPE+R-.html

You need a dual 2ohm sub wired in series like the diagram below to get the 4ohm load that your amp needs in bridged mono. On 400RMS the Type R will do pretty well.

Upload

Platinum Member
Username: Nd4spd18

Philadelphia, PA

Post Number: 10867
^^^ This

But that amp is not going to produce the power it claims...

https://www.ecoustics.com/electronics/forum/car-audio/542894.html

Silver Member
Username: Domenico

Glendale, AZ USA

Post Number: 271
I don't know if you have enough money to do what I'm about to say.. here it goes lol.

Hifonics isn't rated at what it's stated lol even though it says X amount it's not, it's acually over rated by a lot.

And those drivers aren't the best.. personally I don't think it would even be worth buying them.

Now as Brad said suggested the Alpine Type R (1242D or 1222D) is a great driver for the price (120.00 eBay)
(I own 2)

The amp you have now will leave the Type R starving for power each time you play it. (which isn't good)

Now if you get the Type R and are in need of a decent cheap amp go on eBay and search for a Kicker 1.750