New to this - some questions

Username: The_wiz

Rochester, NY

Post Number: 1
Hello! I'm relatively new to car audio, and recently installed a JVC KDLH300 head unit, 2 Sony Xplod 6x9's (rated 80w RMS/260 max), and 2 Pioneer 4x6's (rated 20w RMS/120 max) into my Cavalier. Overall, I'm very pleased with everything, however, I've been adjusting the head unit's EQ settings, and if I turn the volume up much past 25 (goes to 45 or 50 I think), I start to get distortion from the speakers if the EQ pattern has alot of "high" settings in the lower freq's (more bass). Now, if I select an EQ pattern with less bass, the volume can go higher with alot less distortion. The unit has subwoofer outputs and preamp outputs, and I'm wondering if I install an amp, and either a crossover or bass-blockers, and a sub, or maybe something else I don't know about, if I will be able to have cleaner sound at higher volumes with the type of EQ pattern that I prefer - I want no distortion! So I guess what I want to do is "tune" my system. It is worthwhile to note that I will be installing this system into a new vehicle in 6 mos or so. Also, any opinions on my choice of hardware? I.E., are the choices I made decent ones or not - I'm very happy with the head unit - but what about the speakers? Any advice for future equipment purchases as far as quality is concerned. (BTW, I did have a small budget to work with for this system ;) ). Thanks in advance, and sorry for the post length if too long.

Silver Member
Username: Jonathan_f

GA USA

Post Number: 469