First System, Under $600, Could Use Some Help

Username: Gradiuscvk

Lowell, MA USA

Post Number: 1
Hey guys... I'm new to this forum, and I've been catching up with what's already posted... lots of good info, thanks. I wouldn't create a new thread if I had found an answer to my question already, so here it is...

I am a college student with a limited budget... I'm looking for a sub, enclosure, and amp for under 600 dollars... I saw the recent post that quoted such a setup for 575, but when I say "Under 600 dollars" I really mean "Not too much over 600 dollars"... I have a job, and wouldn't mind scrapping and saving if it would mean a significant improvement in SPL / SQ.

As far as specifics go, I've got a 94 (92? I forget) Mercury Sable (it's a hand-me-down, gimme a break)... Well, at least it's got some trunk space, so that isn't an issue. I love rap, and some techno, so I'm just looking for something LOUD and LOW... something you will feel in your stomach. Quality isn't my main concern, but if I had the choice between two equally loud subs, and one had higher a SQ for a reasonable increase in price, I'd go with the higher SQ. From what I've gathered from this forum, Audiobahn, JL, and Kicker make some good amps, and JL, Kicker, Cerwin Vega, and Adire Brahma make good subs... could someone suggest a good system with lots of power and decent quality? I'm not sure if you can do this for my price range, but any help would be greatly appreciated.

someone
Unregistered guest
Get a couple of Adire Shivas and a JBL 1200.1 mono amp. This would give you all the loud and low you want. It would cost you around $450 - $500. I would put them in about 1.5 - 2 CuFt sealed boxes. That would sound great.

Bronze Member
Username: Jamtochristian

Williamsport, Pennsylvania USA of course!

Post Number: 68