Alpine V12 MRDM605 run a single Alpine 12" R SWR-1242D

Username: Crballer

Post Number: 1
Im looking at getting into a little more bass for my crown vic. I have done a lot of looking and I think I have found what I want but need some views on it. I was wondering if an Alpine V12 Digital Mono Amp MRDM605 could power one Alpine type R 12" SWR-1242D without risk of damaging the sub. I've been told it will work but the amp puts out

Per channel into 2 ohms: 900W x 1

RMS Power (at 12V,20Hz-200Hz)
Per channel into 2 ohms: 400W x 1
Per channel into 4 ohms: 250W x 1

RMS Power (at 14.4V,20Hz-200Hz)
Per channel into 2 ohms: 600W x 1

I am also wondering if one of the single 12" sealed boxes on ebay or about $50 would be any good to house this sub. If not, what would?

any help would be great

Post Number: 2
Im also new to this and I have no idea how to log out so if someone could help me out there that would be nice

Gold Member
Username: Theweasel

2 12 FI SSD, Colorado U.S. of A

Post Number: 1023
that amp will be fine if you set your gains correctly and don't abuse bass boost or EQ's. wet your gain on your amp to your Head units preamp voltage.

as for the box, the best would be to custom build a box if you feel confident enough to build it. if you need i can give you a design.

if you don't want to custom build it then look for a ported box with 1.8-2.2 cu ft.

here is an example:
http://www.woofersetc.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=product.display&Product_ID=3527

Silver Member
Username: Kpa2727

Post Number: 561