Serious Subwoofers

Username: Mac1

Post Number: 1
I recently put my pair of 12" aluminum cone eclipses run by my eclipse 200w X 2 channel amp into my 1996 Monte Carlo and they sound like crap. Before I had them in my 1992 explorer sport which they sounded great in. So me, bein the bass hungry guy that I am, is looking for an alternative. Is there a way to make these sound any better or is there a pair of 12's out their for a reasonable price that could part my hair? I also wondered if it would be louder to buy another amp and wire each sub to each amp to mabye add more bass. Now I'm a newbie to all of this so if i sound like a rambling idiot sorry about that but could somebody please help!!!

Gold Member
Username: Glasswolf

NorthWest, Michigan USA

Post Number: 3044
http://www.teamrocs.com/technical/pages/trunk.htm

that should help if you're ready to do a bit of work on the car to improve the sound.

Username: Livinlow

Post Number: 6
that amp is very underpowered for those subs. get a 1000 watt mono class d amp. you gotta remember too that the seats in the monte are going to drown it out a little, especially compaired to your explorer.

JBL BP 1200.1, 1200 watts but would also be a good investment

Rockford Fosgate 1001BD

Username: Mac1

Post Number: 2
thanks for the tip Stick. Do you think that would sound better then having two separate amps?

Anonymous

I prefer a single amp, you know the power is distributed equally. 2 amps of the same make and brand are still going to be a little different. Plus, less wiring and install work.

Silver Member
Username: Pat_l

Tucson, AZ USA

Post Number: 128
There is alot you can do to improve the exsiting subs you have, higher quality AMP with more watts (ie: Rockford, JL, JBL, kicker), better box (ie: bigger or smaller, more angles), Different placement or arrangment (ie: face to back, face to sides, face to front). Play around the subs should be good, but there is always better!

Anonymous