Wierd Box Resonation

Username: Sterrett

Post Number: 1
I have 2 Fi BL 12's pushed by 2 strapped Alphasonic pma1200da amps in a ported 2.5 ft^3 box tuned at 34hz. I am getting a wierd reverberation from tunes that are higher in the scale. My frequency on the amp is set at 80 HZ. This is my first ported box, my smallest lowest powered system, and the first one in a daily driver...so there are too many varriable that I have no experience with to pinpoint the problem. Do I need to stuff the box, retune the port, or live with it? Thanks for any advice. It is a small problem and only noticable if you are listening for it, but I want it gone :-) DJ

Silver Member
Username: •cam•

Post Number: 226
they're each in 2.5 cubes right? so 5 cubes total? well i built my first box out of plywood and i had the same problem so i redesigned it and built it out of mdf and the resonating was gone.

Post Number: 2
Its made out of 5/8 mdf...and no its 2.5 total (inside volume)...its in the trunk a a lancer evo...its as big as I could go. THe trunk won't open now as it is.

Silver Member

Post Number: 233
that sounds small as hell. you got pics of your evo? what generation? wait for someone with more experience to figure out why you got resonance problems tho.

Silver Member
Username: Renegadesrun

Lafayette, IN US

Post Number: 779
80hz? Try 50-55hz.

Gold Member
Username: Matt12490

California USA

Post Number: 2367
You need to sell one of your subs and only have a 1 12" setup..

Or you can keep the box, sell the subs, and get 10s.

2.5 total for 2 BL 12s is waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay too small

Post Number: 3
My evo is a 2003 VIII...I don't have any pictures as it is just my daily driver...nothing too special...mostly stock with a few minor engine mods and some ecu work.....The box is small, but not too aweful small...it sounds pretty good (except for the little resonation)it dosen't low as it should, but that is the trade off for keeping the back seat.

Gold Member
Username: Jblanford