Very low budget..

Username: Heresy209

Post Number: 2
Alright well, I just got my first car (I'm 16) and music truely is my life, playing guitar/bass and drums. So I'd like to get the best sounding/loudest sound system I can for my little budget, but I'm new to automotive audio, and need some help.

I've heard that Sony sucks for car audio, but I don't exactly have the money to replace them.

The car came with these speakers:
2x6.5" Sony Xplode 220w peak/50w rated
2x6"x9" Sony Xplode 240w peak/50w rated

I need an amp to power those 4 speakers, a sub/enclosure and an amp for that, I think. And maybe a head unit I can get after I get a job.

Anyway, I have $400 and I don't have a job so I can't save up more, but I'm hoping I can find whatever is recommended on Ebay to get it cheaper(maybe?)

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

sure_13
Unregistered guest
the sonys will be fine for the component speakers. Get a decent Head unit and dont get an amp for those components. Then go with maybe a decent (better than sony) subwoofer or two, and an amp to run those. You left it very broad, so i dont have many details!

Post Number: 3
Well, can you recommend a decent head unit, amp and subs that I can get for under $400?

Post Number: 4
When I do get a head unit, it has to be able to play MP3's I hate switching CDs. heh

Robert J
Unregistered guest
okay there is a rockford 150rms amp on ebay for $100 even encluding shipping, plus a amp intstall kit. now for a sub if you want sq then go with a alpine type E, they are 200rms for the 10inch, and you will need a 4ohm dvc sub or a 2ohm svc sub to match to that amp. you can get those subs for 90 bucks off of wooferecoutics.com. and i will email the amp site on ebay because i have it in my account. so just give me your email address if you want it.

Silver Member
Username: Pat_l

Tucson, AZ USA

Post Number: 106