It sucks being a noob. :-)

Username: Revolution86

Winnipeg

Post Number: 1
well hello everyone and let me introduce myself (hope you don't mind reading a bit) and pose a question to you pros about my situation...

i am just getting into car audio and i am an idiot! the only reason i'm even getting into car audio is because i bought a car that turned out to have one messed up speaker and a JVC deck that wasn't hooked up and didn't work. But i got the bug and now it's too late for me.

So it begun... i walked into a great car audio store to buy some cheap speakers... i wanted quality, but i wasn't there to spend over 100 bucks. but i got talked into a pretty good ultimate component set with crossovers, swivel tweets... pretty nice 6.5" mids. good stuff for the money. cheaper than the Type S and performs with the type R except for at the very top end when the Type R takes over.

i can't remember exactly why, but i ended up getting an Alpine amp... a 240. 4 channels... i wanted to run a single type S 10" off of two channels of it back then (just a few weeks ago... lol, but since then my whole way of thinking about car audio has changed.) and i got a cheap 2002 alpine deck off a kid at school to hold me over 'til i get a really high end one.

So lately it's been time to get myself a sub. I was thinking to myself... I want something that pounds. Forget this puny single 10" type S stuff... I'll move up to a nice CVR10 Kicker. looks perfect... bridge two channels off the amp to the sub, the other two to my crossovers. a great budget system.

Well, now i've got an Alpine 12" type R sitting here. I think it just got out of hand. Now I need a new amp. I'll bridge my current amp to two channels and run it to my crossovers... and then comes a nice big monoblock. :D

I can get an MRD 1001 brand new from the store for $800 Canadian. MSRP in the store is $1600. I'll get another Type R 12, or perhaps another kind of sub and run them on the MRD 1001...