Ohms ?

Bronze Member
Username: Kicker101

Alberta

Post Number: 56
im new to the car audio scene can someone please explain how ohms are related. like i know but not in depth, so whats the diff between 4 ohms and 2 ohm or whatever?

Bronze Member
Username: Boomtank

Post Number: 67
The low resistance you run at ( Measured in OHMS ) the more current you are drawing from you electrical system. Usually meaning more power that an amp can give to the subwoofer.

So if ur running at 4 ohms lets say ur amp is rated for 400 watts RMS, now you use the same amp with a 2 ohm load and it will be rated about 800watts RMS.

Bronze Member

Post Number: 68
Then there is competition standards when you wanna run at the least resistance as posible to be put in the lowest class posible.

Some competitions class the members by their total paower at 4 ohms.

Like i have a High Current amp rated at 400wrms @ 4 ohms, but im running it at .5 ohms @ 1800wrms

so im in the class of 400watts but using 1800 watts.

Bronze Member

Alberta

Post Number: 58
so if you have a 1000watts rms at 4ohms and u put it to 2ohms it will double the output to 2000watts rms?

Bronze Member

Post Number: 71
not quite... look at your amps specs. It will tell you what ur amp is rated for (rms) at different loads. Usually 4,2, and 1 ohm(if stable to 1 ohm) what amp to you have? sometimes it doubles but not always.

Bronze Member

Alberta

Post Number: 59
and so really u can kinda 200watt rms amp and power up to 800watts? and is RMS mean continuos power?

Bronze Member

Alberta

Post Number: 60
okay i see so on ur amp how do u change this?

Bronze Member

Post Number: 73
Yes rms is continous power rating what kind of amp do you have and what subs?

Bronze Member

Post Number: 74