Like

Question about dd?

 

Silver Member
Username: Rvlacos

El Paso, T.X. United States

Post Number: 150
Registered: Sep-06
dd3512 in 3 cubes tuned to 35hz bad idea? spl? sq? im tryin to learn how this works. if u tune to higher its for spl and lower is sq? confused! this is my 2nd box for my 12 i added the 2nd bat dynamated and used aught awg wire but basically sounds the same? i mean its a little louder and i get it metered thursday.
 

Gold Member
Username: Ctmike

Ct.

Post Number: 2011
Registered: Feb-06
35hz. would be a good sql tuning, should sound nice. and yeah the higher the box tuning the more sq it'll lose, but i've heard dd subs in boxes made to their specs (40hz) and they still sounded good, alot better than most i've heard that high.
 

Gold Member
Username: Ctmike

Ct.

Post Number: 2012
Registered: Feb-06
btw how much power you giving it?
 

Silver Member
Username: Rvlacos

El Paso, T.X. United States

Post Number: 151
Registered: Sep-06
1000wrms at 12.5 and 1332wrms at 14.5 but when i rev to 2000 rpms i get 13.8-14.4 volts
 

Silver Member
Username: Rvlacos

El Paso, T.X. United States

Post Number: 152
Registered: Sep-06
it was 1st in a 2 cube box tuned to 40 and sounded great but i wanted to experiment with boxes. is 3 cubes 2 big? what would be the best box for this sub to produce the highest numbers spl?
 

Silver Member
Username: Rvlacos

El Paso, T.X. United States

Post Number: 157
Registered: Sep-06
? anyone ?
 

Gold Member
Username: Basshead86

Try Google

Post Number: 7239
Registered: Aug-05

quote:

but i've heard dd subs in boxes made to their specs (40hz) and they still sounded good, alot better than most i've heard that high.




thank you for realizing the truth, you are my new hero:-)
 

Gold Member
Username: Drsmith

Montana USA

Post Number: 1366
Registered: Nov-04
NOOOO!!!!!

*hangs head in dissapointment*
 

Gold Member
Username: Basshead86

Try Google

Post Number: 7244
Registered: Aug-05
oh wait!!Upload

you are still my first hero Doc...Upload
 

Gold Member
Username: Drsmith

Montana USA

Post Number: 1367
Registered: Nov-04
HOORAY!!!!
 

Silver Member
Username: Rvlacos

El Paso, T.X. United States

Post Number: 158
Registered: Sep-06
and your my hero as well, mow can u answer this quest for me please? is 3 cubes 2 big for this sub? the website says 2? and what would b the best size and tuneing to get the highest spl?
 

Gold Member
Username: Basshead86

Try Google

Post Number: 7253
Registered: Aug-05
i wouldn't go any bigger than say 2.5 cubes...3. is stretching it...watch the power with that big of a box with a 12" imo...

on the DD forum, the recommend 3 cubes for the 15" 3500 and 5 cubes for the 15" 9500...so 2.5 should be more than sufficient for the 12":-)
 

Gold Member
Username: Redliner

Wilmington, Ma

Post Number: 2719
Registered: Jun-05
i would say 2 would be perfect for it cause they said 2.5 is perfect for a 9512 which needs a bigger box then a 3500 but who knows try the 2.5 but dont go any bigger than that
 

Silver Member
Username: Rvlacos

El Paso, T.X. United States

Post Number: 159
Registered: Sep-06
i went 3 before port and sub displacment so how do i know what im left with?
 

Silver Member
Username: Rvlacos

El Paso, T.X. United States

Post Number: 161
Registered: Sep-06
the port is big so i should be left with close to 2.5 i dunno
 

Bronze Member
Username: Djl

Post Number: 11
Registered: Sep-06
Using DD's box formula with a 3 cube net box before displacements you need 40 sq"'s of port area and 20"'s of port length for 35-36 tuning. You net box area after port and sub displacement will be approx 2.4 cubes
 

Silver Member
Username: Rvlacos

El Paso, T.X. United States

Post Number: 163
Registered: Sep-06
thanks dj. i got metered 2day its the first time i ever seen it done right kinda cool i was exited. last time b4 i changed everything this guy used this little hand held thing i guess they arent accurate cus im def. hittin harder. this time they used a tl and stuck it on my windshield i hit 140.86, i think it can be louder my goal is 145 should i add more power? or do i need to upgrade to a 9512 with more power to hit that?
 

Gold Member
Username: Ctmike

Ct.

Post Number: 2025
Registered: Feb-06
give it more power. what amp you using on it, and do you have stock charging system?
 

Silver Member
Username: Rvlacos

El Paso, T.X. United States

Post Number: 166
Registered: Sep-06
crossfire vr1000d,1000wrms at 12.5 and 1332wrms at 14.5 but when i rev to 2000 rpms i get 13.8-14.4 volts, i have 2 batteries but i cand fine anyone that has or can make me a bigger alt. i have a 2005 chevy malibu.
 

Silver Member
Username: Rvlacos

El Paso, T.X. United States

Post Number: 167
Registered: Sep-06
crossfire vr1000d,1000wrms at 12.5 and 1332wrms at 14.5 but when i rev to 2000 rpms i get 13.8-14.4 volts, i have 2 batteries but i cand fine anyone that has or can make me a bigger alt. i have a 2005 chevy malibu.
 

Silver Member
Username: Night_mirage

AmmanJordan

Post Number: 545
Registered: Jan-06
two thing u should do .

1st : Upgrade ur ALT , Cuz adding another battery will n't give u more power .

2nd :

1000RMS for 3512 .
I don't think u 're giving ur sub enough power , I have zx1000.1 (1240RMS) with 2512 . and it can handle mooore .

So 1500-2000w will hit 145 Db approx .

But u have to do the first point .. ALT ..
 

Silver Member
Username: Rvlacos

El Paso, T.X. United States

Post Number: 168
Registered: Sep-06
i cant find anyone who will build one for my car or rewind mine?
 

Gold Member
Username: Adddisorder

West palm, Florida

Post Number: 1350
Registered: Jan-06
yeah an alt would help, i need to get mine done soon. contact some local people to see if they will rebuild it to produce more amps. usually like 100-150$ or get a new alt from dom at irragi alts. just search for ho alts on ebay and email him about your car. also try email knukonceptz.com im running approx 1300rms to my 3512 and it gets pretty loud havnt had it at full power because i still need my alt rebuild but get yours done and if its still not loud enough get another amp
 

Gold Member
Username: Rovin

Trinidad & T...

Post Number: 9424
Registered: Jul-05
excessive amperage

or

iraggi ......
 

Silver Member
Username: Rvlacos

El Paso, T.X. United States

Post Number: 172
Registered: Sep-06
how do i contact iraggi? EA never responded to 2 of my emails? ? ?
 

Gold Member
Username: Adddisorder

West palm, Florida

Post Number: 1353
Registered: Jan-06
dominick@tds.net

i wouldnt go with EA anyway, heard alot of bad things pretty recently
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Facebook

Shop Related Deals

Directory

Main Forums

Today's Posts

Forum Help

Follow Us