Question on wiring subs/wattage

Username: Djbeanpole

Post Number: 5
I am very new to all of this audio stuff. I had a quick question - I was looking to upgrade from what I have now to a pair of 12's, and was going to have a car audio place where I live take care of the installation. But I wondered what exactly they would do during the installation. I have an Alpine MRD-M500. According to spreadsheet RMS power at 2 ohms is 500W - what the hell does 2 ohms mean? That means how the subs are wired to each other and then to the amplifier right? What type of wire (gauge/watt) would be used to connect the amplifier to the head unit? How would the subs be wired together? Should I be looking at DVC or SVC... or should I just shut up and let the car audio people do their job.

I wanted to ask so I don't have the wool pulled over my eyes.

Thanks in advance,
Dave

Silver Member
Username: Theelfkeeper

Stockbridge, GA USA

Post Number: 547
yes, the ohms the amp "Sees" depends on how the subs are wires. SVC and DVC means single or dual voice coil. say you get 2 4 ohm SVC subs, they can be wired at 2 ohms(parallel, --, ++) or 8 ohms(series, -+, -+) where if they were 4 ohm DVC, they could be wired at 16 ohms, 4 ohms or 1 ohm. you'll want 2 4 ohm SVC subs or 2 2 ohm DVC subs to get your 2 ohm load.

for 500 watts, a 4AWG wire should be fine.

go to www.bcae1.com and scroll down to section 38 for a more in depth explanation about wire, wireing subs and just about anything else you'd wanna know.

all the shop is gonna do is run wires, hook them to amp, hook amp to subs. how well they do all this depends on where you go and how much you pay. but if you don't feel confident you can install this stuff yourself, i'd get help from a someone who know what they are doing or let an installer do it.

Gold Member
Username: Rovin

Trinidad & T...

Post Number: 2728