Stop fighting this is for sharing ideas and tech

Username: Soundtech26

Chilliwack, BC Canada

Post Number: 1
I was browsing to find info on the type R subs I recently purchased and came accross this forum. I only found people that were more intent on saying how bad these subs were then people who knew anything specific. This quickly resulted in a pissing contest with no benefit at all. I have been working around audio equipment for over 15 years to date and I have seen things you would not believe. I have seen two rockford 8" subs in a huge ported box and a 500watt rockford amp in a CRX blow away four top of the line at the time JL 15's in a blazer powered by 4 pheonix gold 500 watt RMS amplifiers. The CRX posted an average of 142db where the blazer only posted 132db.(obviously this is due to improper box design and power delivery) I have never seen 8"s in a more severe excursion before that day.

Now lets get down to the core. Loudness and sound quality are not the same thing and the cost associated with combining these two can be substantial. Rockford subs are loud but for the most part lack sound quality due to the frequency response associated with the cone mass. The perfect sub would have an infinate frequency response with a weightless mechanical assembly and 100% efficiency. Unfortunately this not being possible due to the basic physical properties of matter and electromechanical constraint sub companies do the best they can.

Personally if I hear someone wants a loud system to compete with his or her friends I would go with