Car Audio Noob... buying First system need help...

Username: Bigjoe87865

Ft. Lauderdale, FL USA

Post Number: 1
Hey... Im somewhat a noob... but know maybe a thing or 2

Im looking for a system to go into a Jetta 2002...

i dont want anything insane... but i dont want anything puny either... *xplodes are no go*.. hated the way they sound...

my dad has 2 10s Kickers.. and they are like6-7 years old on 900w amp... not sure... what model.. i think they are decent to my knowledge...

anyways... so far... people have recommended JL-Audio w3 10" or 12"

and a smaller crowd recommended... any of the "square" kickers... of same size...

im kinda confused with which to go... like i said.. i dont want anything insane and expensive... im leaning more towards the JLs as of now...

what do u think?

what is SQ and SPL?..*srry im a noob*

and Amps... im thinking of a 1000w one... which do u recommend?... a guy told me to get some decent 100$ ones from the swap shop or something... and to build a case..

also... what do u guys recommend more... 10" or 12"... is there that big of a performance diff?... and is there that big of a space diff?.. in the trunk of a jetta

anyother things i should invest in?.. dyna mats?etc...

also... people told me... get the version1 w3 insted of Version2... cause it sounded better or osmething... what do u think

Gold Member
Username: Basshead86

Ocala, FL USA

Post Number: 1774
another one from FL!:-O
i will reply to all of your ?'s in a minute.
right now i am eating, and typing with one hand takes 4ever.lol

JL over Kicker square subs

Resonant engineering over JL.

Gold Member

Ocala, FL USA

Post Number: 1775
okay,
JL's will sound wayyyyyy better than any square subs, and they will outlast any square subs.
secondly, the square subs have little SQ, ye they do get really loud, but they have reliability issues.

SQ = Sound Quality
SPL = Sound Pressure Level
SQL = Sound Quality Level. this one is subs that sound great,and can get very loud.