2 10'' s or 1 12''??

Username: Newbiee

Post Number: 1
hi, i'm a noob to car audio, just got my dad's hand down 98 camry and installed a Pioneer 50-Watt XM head unit. i want a balanced system with clean hits, a friend told me to either get 2 10'' or 1 12'' JL w3.

i have no idea which brand is good or not. i'm on a budget of 600 bucks to spend on the amp and sub, plz help!

Bronze Member
Username: Illfaded

Post Number: 14
wow 600 u can get some decent subs.. just shop around.... ill say for a camry go with 2 10"s if u have a suv or a truck go higher

Gold Member
Username: Glasswolf

NorthWest, Michigan USA

Post Number: 1764
try this:
2 Adire Shiva 12" subs (www.adireaudio.com)
$250
and a JBL BP1200.1 amp (www.ecoustics.com)
~$300

ported box, 2cu ft per sub after driver and port displacement, 4"ID ports, tuned to 34Hz each

Post Number: 2
thanks glasswolf, i'll go get that set up. can i just bring "ported box, 2cu ft per sub after driver and port displacement, 4"ID ports, tuned to 34Hz each" to an audio shop and have them make it?

Gold Member

NorthWest, Michigan USA

Post Number: 1779
sure can!
that's a pretty simple box by installer standards

Gold Member

NorthWest, Michigan USA

Post Number: 1780
one trick to the JBL amps
get a pair of RCA Y-splitters (2M-1F) so you send signal to all 4 inputs of the amp (front and rear L/R) and you'll notice a vast improvement in performance.
It's a little trick with those BP series amps.

Post Number: 3
i've ordered the subs and amp, the thing now is when i go to the audio shop to get the box made and everything installed, should i tell them a specific way to wire the amp? i know nothing about it.

and how much should i expect to pay for installation, box and wires? don't want to get riped off ;]

Bronze Member
Username: Illfaded

Post Number: 15