13w7s in a grand cherokee

Username: Jinsus

Post Number: 2
I'm planning on two 13w7s in my 1998 5.9 grand cherokee. I have a few questions, though. I don't really want to buy them in the prowedge JL-made box, but would it be easier? I have no experience building my own boxes, but I want to get as much as I can out of the subs.. so I guess my question is will the box be suffiecient. Each sub will have the 1000/1 on them. also, how much dynomat extreme should i get to cover the whole jeep? square feet, about. and how many layers would you recommend for the two 13w7s.. Thanks.

Bin Laden
Unregistered guest
If you are spending all that money to pay for the JL Audio 13w7s and the JL Audio 1000/1 amps do yourself a favor and put them in a custom ported box. Don't buy the prowedge. As for the dynamat here's the thing about sound deadening. You never really know how much you need. It's a matter of trial and error. Even with multiple layers of dynamat extreme with that much power you won't be able to stop every vibration and rattle it's just almost impossible to cover and seal everything. I would start by just buying the Dynamat Original kit, top that with the Dynamat Extreme Kit, and then top that off with the Extremeliner from Dynamat that should cover your Jeep very well. I think anything more would be overkill but you can never have too much sound deadening. I hope this helps and enjoy your JL Audio subs they should sound AWESOME in your jeep. By the way I hope you plan on beefing up your Jeep's electrical system with those 2 JL Audio 1000/1 amps you are going to need a High Output Alternator and maybe an extra battery or two.

Post Number: 3