Questions about mono amps. need help.

Username: Jfo68106

Post Number: 5
When the specs for a mono amp say "400 x 1 rms @ 4ohms , 600 x 1 @ 2 ohms", does that mean for one sub, I would be running it at 400x1 ? Someone told me that for mono amps, you run it at 4ohms if you are powering 1 sub and 2 ohms if you are powering 2 subs, is this correct ? Would I have to see that the sub is 2ohm compatable ?

-Right now I am powering two Alpine 12' type E's that are supposed to be 250w rms (600w max) with an Alpine v12 605 amp and the specs I found on Bestbuy.com say: 400W RMS x 1 @ 2 ohms, 12V, and 250W RMS x 1 @ 4 ohms, 12V. While in my manual, it just says 400 x 1 @ 4 ohms, 600w X 1 @ 2ohms (this is probably at 14v). How would I know which specs are accurate and what I'm running it at? Also, would I be putting the wrong amount of power to my subs?

- Sorry if i worded everything a bit confusing, I'm new with this and would appreciate helpful feedback. Alright thanks allot.

Username: Jfo68106

Post Number: 6
Here's one more question I got, a mono amp, just means it runs two subs as 1 channel right or does it split the power ? If there's any confusion about my questions, just let me know and I'll respond asap. Thanks allot.

xdrummer03
Unregistered guest
The tags wrong then on the MRD-605. It does 600rms@2ohm.2ohms which 2 Type E Alpines will be at(if there 4omh subs). Yeh you have wrong amount to subs.The biggest you need is the V-Power MRP-M350.

Anonymous

what excatly does OHM mean? how does it work when saying, for example, a 8 OHM sub working off a 4 OHM amp?

Username: Brynm

Prince Albert, SK Canada

Post Number: 4
OK lots of questions first on a mono amp you can set it up different ways if your subs are 4 ohms you can hook up just one and run at 4 ohms or two in parallel(run a wire from positive of amp to pos on first sub then continue to pos on second sub, and same for neg.) which would give you two ohms.