Eclipse, JL 4-ch amps

John Hall
Unregistered guest
Right now I have a pair of Kappa 605.cs comps and a pair of Kappa 693.5i 6x9's powered by a US Acoustics USX-4065 amp (65w x 4ch).

After I get my new head unit, i am thinking about buying an upgrade amplifier for my mid/hi's.

My amps are mounted on the back of my rear seat so i don't have much room to work with. The left and middle of the seat are full of a JBL bp600.1 and a capacitor/distribution block, etc.

My US Acoustics amp has dimensions of 9 5/8" x 13 3/8" x 2 5/8". I need an amp that fits that size pretty closely. I am thinking nothing longer than 14" will fit. Height is flexible, i have a foot or so to work with up and down.

I originally considered a JL 300/4. However, I can't find it any cheaper than $379. I have seen the Eclipse PA5422 amp online for as low as $239. This amp puts out 85w x 4ch @ 4ohm and 13.8V.

I have no experience with Eclipse amps and need the opinion of some people who have dealt with them before. I can't find too many opinions on the internet about them. Are they reliable? Clean?

Should the Eclipse amp make my system sound much better than my current amp? Or sould I just go with the JL eventually?

And, any other suggestions on smallish, high-power(around 85-100w), reliable, moderately priced(under $300 or so)4ch amps would be great.

Thanks

Anonymous

Finding amps based on size is hard since amps around that high in power are at least 18" wide.

Anonymous

I should know. My sub amps are about 16" wide but they fit under my front seats but my 24" wide 4ch amp had to be in my trunk. I like having the sub amps under my seats because I can keep them cooler and I'm not worried about the 4ch amp ever overheating since it's only pumping 80hz and above to my components.

Silver Member
Username: Tbone

OK United States

Post Number: 220