2 Kicker Comp CVR10's...What Amp?

Username: Kicker10

Post Number: 1
OK, I am new to all of this but I am trying to put together a system for my boat.

I already have 2 Kicker CVR10's (dual 4ohm coils and 300 watt RMS). I need to know what Amp I should use to drive these.

I also have a planet audio TT4400 to drive 4 6.5 Infinity Kappa marine speakers.

How do I wire the CVR10's to get a 2 ohm load to the Amp? When I do this, will each amp be getting the entire rated 2 ohm load or will that be cut in half for each speaker (600watts @ 2ohm = 300watts per sub)??

Thanks in advance...

Silver Member
Username: Tbone

OK United States

Post Number: 170
Hook the positve of both speakers to the Positive speaker output of one side of your amp, and do that same for the negatives (That will take care of one sub/two coils. Do the same for the other side. If you then hook them to your amp, one speaker per channel, your amp will see a two ohm stereo load. However, if you buy a ohm stable monoblock, you could run all four coils off the one amp. Look on the Autotek site at the X-Class monoblocks, and also look at the JL's, Jbl's, Etc. Does you boat have a car sized motor, or an outboard?

Post Number: 2
The boat has a 502 big block Chevy and dual batteries (I can install a third s well) so I should be fine from the power standpoint.

Would this amp work? PLANET AUDIO TT850D
http://www.electronicgiant.net/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=1335

1 X 600 Watts RMS Power (2 Ohm)

In the two ohm scenario, would I be providing 300 Watt RMS pre sub or is it a true 600 Watt?

Silver Member
Username: Tbone

OK United States

Post Number: 204