Building my own Car Amp

Username: Thenobleshrew

Myerstown, PA USA

Post Number: 1
Has anyone ever built their own amp? I'm an electrical engineering student, so I'm well versed in designing/building amplifers, filters, and power handling circuitry. I'm assuming a car amp is a stage to boost power, then filters for each channel, then the amplication of each channel. Is this correct?

Has anyone ever attempted to build their own amp? Are schematics available anywhere?

Thanks for you help.

Silver Member
Username: Thrushdtd

New York

Post Number: 152
it will cost more and sound like crap compared to a real amplifier but it can be done.

Username: Dr_sharp

USA

Post Number: 8
Wrong... a friend of mine is a EE and is making a home audio amplifier. He has gotten nearly $1000 of components for free (free samples) and has completed the first channel... it sounds like a dream so far.

Josh if you're a EE I recommend waiting until you know exactly how to do it... don't cheat and use someone elses design... wait a year or so and you should have all of the tools you need to design one.

Username: Thenobleshrew

Myerstown, PA USA

Post Number: 2
Dude,

I have the knowledge I need now to design and build the amps and filters. The thing is, I'm new to car audio and I'm not sure if it as is simple as just, Filter, Amplify, Output. Thats why i'm looking for schematics, to find out if there is something that I am not considering. Thats why I'm looking for something who's done this type of thing before.

Thanks for you post, its great to know the parts can be gotten as samples!

Bronze Member
Username: Karam

Post Number: 52
cool would you know why you cant bridge a 4ch to 1ch by any chance?

brothaman
Unregistered guest
I have my 1000w boss amp hooked up correctly and all my power is there but i have no output. It is brand new. What ismy problem????? PLease help soon!!

Bronze Member

USA

Post Number: 11
lmao... that's hilarious... noobs are trying to take your thread...