Newbie here (on the board), looking for some sound advise

Username: Collopyba

Post Number: 1
Hello,

I'm new to this board and was hoping I could get some opinions on something. I'm not happy with the output I'm getting with my gear and I'm thinking I might need to add another amp. I have a Kenwood KVT911-DVD head with Boston Acoustic 5.5 Pros up front, RX67's in the rear deck and a C110 Competitor 10" sub in the trunk. I'm powering my (bridged) front & rears and sub off of an Xtant x603 3 channel amp.

In the past, I had a Kenwood Z828 installed and it sounded phenominal but since the 911 went in, things don't seem to hit very hard anymore. I realize the 911 head is only rated at 45 watts/4 and the 828 was 47 watts/4. This might be where the problem is but I'm not sure.

I'm thinking of adding an Xtant X1001 Mono channel amp to drive my sub only and dedicate my X603 to my speakers. Will this make any difference? I'm at wits end and really disappointed with my sytem lately. The shop I had my gear installed at, no longer does business with Xtant, so I'll need to go elsewhere to get this done. I'm hoping that by doing my homework first, the install should be less hectic as then it was to get the rest of my gear installed. ( I have changers, disc and keg, Satellite etc also.)

I replaced my X603 amp in November with another of the same type, is it possible that something just didn't get tuned right, maybe it's tuned a bit to conservative? The installers worked with Xtant Tech Support over the phone, so I'm hard pressed to think it's tuned and wired correctly.

I'm looking for suggestions, comments etc. Thanks in advance for your help.

Regards,
Beth Anne

Silver Member
Username: Tbone

OK United States

Post Number: 135