Question about ohms, please help...

Bronze Member
Username: Justinw303

Mobile, AL U.S.A.

Post Number: 13
I'm very new to the car audio scene, and I have a question. I just called a guy at a car audio place and asked him a question, and his response brought up this question.

Alright, let's say I have two 4 ohm subs (50-200 rms). I also have a 2 channel amp. Here are the specs:

200 watts RMS x 2 at 4 ohms
300 watts RMS x 2 at 2 ohms
600 watts RMS x 1 bridged output at 4 ohms
4-ohm stable in bridged mode

Now, I asked the guy if I could run one sub per channel, seeing as I have 2 subs and a 2 channel amp. Well, he said I would have to run it in bridged mode.

This is where I get confused. He said that since the subs were 4 ohms, it would be running 300 watts to each sub at 2 ohms.

So, does this mean when you bridge an amp with 2 subs you take the ohm rating of the subs and half it to know how many ohms the amp will encounter?

Also, How come he said I could bridge the 2 subs on the amp, and when I look at the specs on the amp the only time it mentions bridging is when it says 600 watts RMS x 1 bridged output at 4 ohms. So, what's up?

And the lowest number of ohms the amp can handle bridged (according to the specs) is 4, so how could I do what he told me to do?

I would really appreciate some help with this. I'm trying to learn as much as I can.

I realize the equipment is cheap, but please bear in mind that I'm a novice.

Silver Member
Username: 54danny54

Post Number: 399
u dont have 2 bridge it lol...u can cause more watts will get 2 it but u dont have 2

Gold Member
Username: James1115

Wilton, Ct

Post Number: 3351