Help with System

Bronze Member
Username: Algirard1

OH United States

Post Number: 17
I am looking to get a sub or some subs for my 1993 Ford Ranger extended cab. I am looking to spend $800 for subs, amp, box, and any wiring. I am a newbie and I have done a lot of research but I can't decide what to get. I would like a system the has pretty good spl as well as sq. I was looking toward just getting one sub so I could still have a passenger in the back or room for stuff. What subs and amps would you guys suggest for me. Thank you for your time.

Silver Member
Username: James1115

Wilton, Ct

Post Number: 732
I got something for you. I have a JL audio 12w6v2 in a sealed box used very lightly for about 2 months with only 300 watts from a very nice amp for $300 and how about this. http://www.circuitcity.com/ssm/MTX-Mono-Subwoofer-Amplifier-MXA4001-/sem/rpsm/oi d/90876/rpem/ccd/productDetail.do

that leaves $200 left for wires,install,whatever else you might need. In that truck that speaker will be pretty nice.

Bronze Member

OH United States

Post Number: 18
I was thinking of getting either 1 or 2 Eclipse SW7104DVC. What would be a good amp be for those subs.

Bronze Member

OH United States

Post Number: 19
I decided on getting 1 Eclipse SW7124DVC-T4 that can handle 450 rms. What amp would you suggest that I run the Eclipse off of. Also I would put it in a ported box and get the box tuned right.

Silver Member
Username: Invain

Michigan United States

Post Number: 593
Actually I am getting ready to order that exact sub. I am planning on getting an MTX 421D to run it. The MTX should be a little underrated, and the sub will be in a ported box so I won't need quite as much power.

Bronze Member
Username: Dankman

Granger, Indiana United States

Post Number: 39
Great choices Joe and Alan i got 2 of the SW7124DVC-T2's and they are very loud for their pricetag, tell me how they sound I also went ported.

Silver Member

Michigan United States

Post Number: 596