Choosing an amp.

Username: Roseraven

Post Number: 1
I just got two 12" Duals and have no idea what kind of amp to get. Can someone point me in the right direction?

Bronze Member
Username: Marley289

Post Number: 23
if they are dual 4 ohm subs get a 1 ohm stable, mono amp.
here's a picture of how to wire them. use option 1

Upload

Bronze Member

Post Number: 26
as for brand i dunno what is good and whats not, you'll have to ask someone else. put the specs of your subs up that way someone will have a specific idea of what you should get

Unregistered guest
I have a Dual XAF460 Amp, 460 watt peak, 230 x 2 channels, RMS power per channel @ 2 ohm is 115w x 2.... my question(s) is/are is this amp worth using? is it good? IF it is, what's a good combination to use with it... im not very experienced with systems... i could use some input! thanks for your help.

Silver Member
Username: Lbeckner

Tulsa, Ok Usa

Post Number: 232
never heard of that amp, but it says 115W RMS (continuous) x 2 @ 2 ohms. so you would get the most power out of it @ 2 ohm stereo.

ravenephialtes
Unregistered guest
i am looking at a mtx T8154A sub. 15 in. 4 ohm. 1000 watt peak. RMS power handling is 500. what attributes would i need in an amplifier for this sub? and is that sub any good? worth buying?

Bronze Member

Post Number: 33
if you buy taht, i would reccomend the mtx 421d, it is a good amp from what i hear. its cheap too, the price used to be $239 and now this year, its at $179...cheap!

http://www.cardomain.com/item/MTX421D
if you get this amp, get the sub that has dual voice coils instead of a single 4 ohm, then buy this amp and wire it at 2 ohms

Bronze Member

Post Number: 34
dual 4 ohm voice coils*

Unregistered guest