Looking for a PowerAmp for Computer...

Username: Ahmer

Hyderabad, Sindh Pakistan

Post Number: 9
Hello!
I am here to just bring my knowlede increase...
I am thinking to buy a PowerAmp to attach with my personal Computer...
I have limited knowledge about Car equipments or electronics...

1000 watts amp will be enough...
I want to power 2 12" SUB-woofers with a pair of
speakers...
I am buying a good condition second hand Amp..
Please tell me how to be able to make a cheap cost
sound system for computer....

Gold Member
Username: Glasswolf

NorthWest, Michigan USA

Post Number: 6995
for in-house use on 110/220VAC, use a self-amplified home stereo subwoofer with satellite speakers for full-range.
forget car audio in the house. It sounds lousy, it's expensive to set up a proper power supply, and it's pretty pointless.

Post Number: 10
Hey Glasswolf...

I know what you are talking about...but i want to do it...I read some of the posts here...i
understand AC to DC converter or poweradapter with a require Ampearage for POWERAMP...

I estimate it...it is not as much expensive....
3 or 4 PC ATX powersupplies require...
You just tell me what should i do when i go to buy a second hand 1000 watts PowerAmp...want to attach 2 12" SUB-woofers...
How to choose a quality one...? i have seen some of the Amp's last time i just look 1000 watts at that time...nighther Brand name nor RMS etc...

Hope you will understand what i am looking for...
thanks in advance....

Gold Member

NorthWest, Michigan USA

Post Number: 7050
a 1000 watt amp needs 100A of current DC.
I don't use power supplies from computers to run car amps. it's dangerous and I won't be held liable if you set your house on fire.

Bronze Member

Post Number: 11
HOW....but here i read about PC ATX power supplies are best for convert AC TO DC....

Than what other people do to get 100 AMP from
a 12 watt power supply...

I think MR.Jonathan fry give here a ducument on "how to use an ATX power supply for multi-purposes....