Am I just friggin retarded?? Do I need 2 amps for 2 subs?

Bronze Member
Username: Karthalin

Tacoma, WA USA

Post Number: 13
Ok, I am a damn College graduate in mechanical engineering and I cant figure this out! (Too much work, not enough sleep, I have gone retarded...)

I WANT 2 RE X.X.X subs, each sub comes with 2 Ohm DVC, and I can special order them to have 1 Ohm DVC. Anywayz, each sub can handle 1600W RMS/2600W Max. So I WAS planning on using ONE 1500W RMS amp to run BOTH speakers. I was just told that it wont work, each speaker will only see 750W and they will barely move. No matter how I wire them. Is this true?

I was suggested to get either one 3000W RMS or two 1500W RMS amps, one for each speaker. Well, can I just use one 1500W amp and have the subs in paralell or have I forgotten the basic laws of circuits????

Username: Dnizzle

Raleigh, NC USA

Post Number: 3
What brand amp, some are over rated some are under rated. If its a true 1500w amp then it could definitely get them moving to full excursion. You just have to make sure your box is right.

Bronze Member

Tacoma, WA USA

Post Number: 14
The brand will be quality, thinking an Orion or a top of the line Rockford Fosgate, what ever it is I want TRUE 1500W capabilities to BOTH speakers. I dont want an amp that says its 1500W, but its really 1700W and each speaker still only sees 850W. I would like both speakers pushed to the max.

BTW, anyone know what the mechanical Wattage limit is on these speakers? I.E. how big an amp do I need to just reach max excursion?

Silver Member
Username: Sploosh56

Ohio

Post Number: 441
1600 watts rms is a thermal rating. 750 watts to each sub would definatly make them move and they would sound good. The X.X.X. like around 1000 though but 750 watts would be fine.

Bronze Member

Tacoma, WA USA

Post Number: 17