Help for a newbie?

Username: Lachie_m

Post Number: 1
Hello all, this is my first time posting on this site, so i apologise in advance if I'm posting in the wrong area or if this question has been answered elsewhere. Also, please excuse my lack of knowledge, especially with electrical terms!

Okay, here's the problem. I have two 5.1 home theater amps (one sherwood and one pioneer) and they both have the same fault. on both units, the standby/on button does not always turn the unit on, and if it does then the unit will only stay on for approx 3-5seconds before switching back to standby mode. On neither unit does the display turn on during this process. Is this 'protect' mode or is this something else and how can it be fixed? Thanks

Platinum Member
Username: Jan_b_vigne

Dallas, TX

Post Number: 17247

Typically, "stand by" is a function of a switch on the front panel of the unit. No input sources are selected through the stand by switch and you'll need to select a source by hitting "CD", "DVD", "Video 1", etc. on the remote. Once a source has been selected in such a manner, the unit should power up and be able to play. The "stand by" LED, however, should remain lit as long as the unit is not shut down completely by hitting the "stand by" button once again. If you have your on screen display hooked up to a monitor device - a TV - you should be able to see a visual readout of the unit's status once a source has been selected.

This should be explained in the owner's manual. Have you read the owner's manual? This should also be the type of question you can ask the retailer from which you purchased the unit. Did you buy the unit from a local dealer who offers after the sales service?

We can answer questions but those two sources are generally your first and best bet as they should know the product better than we do.

Gold Member
Username: Magfan

USA

Post Number: 2741