Connecting multiple speakers to one output.

Username: Jkingma

Post Number: 1
I want to connect 8 speakers to my receiver but there are only connections for 4 speakers. Can I connect 2 speakers in parallel to each jack or will that damage the speakers and/or receiver?

Gold Member
Username: Hawkbilly

Nova Scotia Canada

Post Number: 1441
I think the general rule is that for parellel connections the impedence is halved, and for series it is doubled. So, assuming you have 8 ohm speakers, connecting any 2 of them in parallel would lead to a 4 ohm load. Keeping in mind that the impedence of your speakers flucuates across the frequency spectrum (above or below 8 ohms) the overall impedence could at times be closer to 2 ohms. Most big box receivers will struggle mightily with that type of load, which can overheat your receiver. Frying your receiver could also lead to unfortunate results for your speakers as well.

A series connection may be more advisable but I'm far from an expert.

Why would you want to connect 8 speakers ? Are they in different rooms ?

Username: Jkingma

Post Number: 2
"Why would you want to connect 8 speakers ? Are they in different rooms ?"

Yes, thats correct.

Gold Member
Username: Superjazzyjames

Post Number: 1763
My suggestion: Connect two speakers in series to each pair of terminals. This will maintain a NOMINAL impedance of 8 ohms. Keep in mind that what Chris said with regard to impedance and receivers handling it is correct.

Gold Member
Username: Illuminator

USA

Post Number: 5616
Not only will it just overheat your receiver, but you risk frying the output IC's or components in the power supply. Once upon a time I had a flagship Onkyo TX-DS939 and I hooked up a 3 ohm load (unknowingly) to it and blew a capacitor in the PSU. Fortunately it was an easy fix (new cap for $2, though slightly difficult to find locally), but could have easily been worse.