Unbalanced vs Balanced inputs and cables?

Username: Mrafka

Lexington, VA United States

Post Number: 1
Hello,
I'm a total noob, so my question might seem silly. Anyway, I got a a really powerful (1300 watt) amplifier, and it has two TRS inputs labeled Ch1 and Ch2. Now, I want to connect it to my ipod. What sort of cable should I use between the ipod and the amp. I have a 3.5mm stereo to Dual 1/4" mono (TS) Y cable. Would that work?

Platinum Member
Username: Jan_b_vigne

Dallas, TX

Post Number: 16694

If the plugs fit the jacks, it should work.

Post Number: 2
Well, the amp has two 1/4" inputs labeled Ch1 and Ch2 and it says 'Tip-negative, Ring-Positive, Sleeve-Ground' underneath. So I should be good plugging TS jacks in TRS inputs?

Platinum Member

Dallas, TX

Post Number: 16705

You've not mentioned what equipment you're trying to connect up to. I'm always a little confounded that most posters expect other people to read their minds and know things which might be relevant to the discussion. The answer to your question is most likely to come from the manufacturer which will know the particulars of their equipment designs.

Tip/ring/sleeve connectors can be several different things depending upon how the equipment is designed. In most conventional home/consumer audio gear tip/ring/sleeve would indicate a stereo plug - two channels of information existing on the tip and ring with the sleeve acting as ground for one single plug/jack. If you plug a "mono" or tip/sleeve plug into a jack expecting a TRS plug, you'll do no damage. The second channel information which would ride on the ring just won't exist since there are no connections being made to that portion of the plug.