Help needed to select speakers

Username: Hifi247

Post Number: 1
After a thorough research about A/V receivers I have decided to buy the Yamaha RXV-1400.But I am
unable to make a decesion about the speakers. So Please suggest and guide me to select the right set of Center,Floor and sourround speakers.

Jimvm
Unregistered guest
Well, since no one has responded, I'll give you my 2 cents. As I am fairly new to audio, my advice may only be worth 2 cents.

You say you thoroughly researched receivers. I'm guessing you spent some time lurking audio forums, looking at manufacturer's websites, checking out the specs and features, inspecting the units themselves and maybe even listening to a receiver or two.

Well, I think you should thoroughly research the speakers as well. Sure, the way a speaker looks may have some influence on you and the specs will have a bearing, but the way it sounds to you and its cost will most likely be the determining factors.

First, determine what kind of sound you like, e.g., bright, warm, full, forward, laid back, etc. Do this by finding every decent audio store within 50 - 100 miles of you and visiting them. Listen to every speaker you can, even if some are a little out of your price range, just to determine what kind of sound makes you happy. Then, try to learn which speakers within your price range have that sound. Do this by reading these forums and by reading professional speaker reviews. You must keep in mind during all of this that whatever they sound like in the store, in all likelyhood, they will sound different (maybe better, maybe worse) once they're in your home.