Yamaha RX500/U receiver + JBL 2600 speakers = horrible high-pitched buzz. Help!

Username: Rararabies

Post Number: 1
Hello,
I'm currently setting up my first hi-fi from separate components. I purchased a used Yamaha RX500/U receiver and JBL 2600 bookshelf speakers (8 ohmz impedance, so they should work). If I hook up one speaker to the receiver and press the speaker select (A/B) button, there's a slight hum. If I hook up both and press the select speakers button, there's a loud, high-pitched buzz/tone that causes me to lunge to de-select it. I hear this tone even with the volume, bass, treble, etc turned down to zero.

This happens even if I disconnect my Denon CD player, so I don't think it's a ground loop (but I'm a novice at this, so I could be wrong): one speaker, slight hum (could be because the receiver isn't grounded, I suppose), two speakers, hideous overloaded sounding tone. Does anyone have any idea what could be causing this? It happens if I connect the speakers to the A or B set of connection clips, and it doesn't seem to matter which speaker I connect to the left or right connectors. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Gold Member
Username: Jrbay

Livonia [Detroit area], Michigan USA

Post Number: 1045
Greetings,

Ah yes, adventures in buying used equipment! Any chance that you can talk to the previous owner? They could likely give you your best information but, in case you can't:

I know you are setting up your first system so the answers are likely to be negative but would you happen to have some other receiver that you could connect the speakers to? And/or different speakers to connect to the receiver. The idea is to localize the problem, as you have eliminated the CD player, to either the speakers or the receiver.

Platinum Member
Username: Jan_b_vigne

Dallas, TX

Post Number: 14508