Receiver Alternate

Username: Willd

Post Number: 1
I have an old set of speakers that i found in my house recently. 4 speakers and a sub and they have never been taken out of the package. What I wondering is if there is anyway to use them without a receiver? I am a student so money is tight. Are there any other options than buying a receiver to use them?

Platinum Member
Username: Nuck

Post Number: 13262
Ummm...try humming?

Platinum Member
Username: Jan_b_vigne

Dallas, TX

Post Number: 13870

The bad news is, even with a receiver you'll still need a source player (CD/DVD) to plug into the receiver unless you just really, really like the radio stations in your area.

You might want to look into a computer based system and do some reserach on the speakers. If they have a very high electrical sensitivity spec (90dB or so) you could pick up a fairly inexpensive T-amp as the power amp.

Head over to the computer section of the forum and ask a few questions about using a computer as a source player.

Bronze Member
Username: Jackkessler

Post Number: 25
Sorry to disrespect my elders but feel free to ignore Jan Vigne and Nuck. They are thinking retail thoughts. I suggest Will D go to his local Craigslist, garage sale, or thrift store.

All modern receivers have lots of home theater features for supporting 5, 7, 8 or more speakers and simultaneously supporting various resolutions of video output.

Will doesn't need any of that. A stereo receiver that drives music into two or even four speakers and does little else, is completely obsolete now. So a used one can be had for not much money.

Make sure everything works on it, especially if it is in a thrift store, and be sure it has the remote. A remote always seems like a frippery until the 100th time you have to get up to adjust the volume.

Platinum Member
Username: Jan_b_vigne

Dallas, TX

Post Number: 13874

Ahhhh, precious youth and it's infernal follies!