Bose 901 Series VI + surround- Help!

Username: Kmskitter

Post Number: 1
Hey everyone, I'm a little new at this, so please excuse my (probably simple) problem. I would very much appreciate an experienced hand to help me out.

I was given a set of Bose 901 Series VI and the 901 equalizer recently, but I already have a 7.1 surround sound system in place.

How do I hook up these 901 speakers as main L and R to work in conjunction with my current surround sound system?

The 901s *must* run with the equalizer according to everything I've read, but the manuals aren't giving me a whole lot of help on exactly how to hook it all up.

It's especially confusing since some of my equipment is older, some newer, and everything is labeled about a million different ways.

Here is a list of the equipment I have:

2x Bose 901 Series VI
1x Bose 901 active equalizer
1x Yamaha V-2095
1x Yamaha HTR-5630
1x Denon DRA 755

I'm definitely willing to make a few trips to Radio Shack, but if at all possible I'd like to not have to buy another receiver just to get these 901s going.

I would be very grateful for any how-to advice you guys can offer!

-Eli

Silver Member
Username: Magfan

USA

Post Number: 489
I rather doubt that anything that Yamaha OR Denon makes will drive 901s.
You also mention 'current surround sound system'.
Do you intend to run the 901s as front channels or simply as a dedicated stereo pair? IF as part of a multi-channel HT setup, you will have trouble with matching sound.
Sorry, Eli, but you probably won't get much Bose traction around here.
Please supply a little more detail and you may get a better, more helpful response.

Username: Kmskitter

Post Number: 2
I appreciate the response, I didn't want to get too long-winded. Researching more, and bieng a newbie in this area, I didn't realize how polarized people are on Bose. I am curious why people either love them or hate them. Anywho, here is a little better explanation of my OP.

I was wondering: